Union County Development Board
207 South Herndon Street
Union, SC 29379
Phone: 864.319.1097
Fax: 864.319.1099

Andrena Powell-Baker, Executive Director

Jami Trammell, Administrative Assistant

Union County Development Board

Since its inception in 1982, the Union County Development Board (UCDB) has successfully served Union County through the primary purpose of recruiting new industry, retaining existing industry, and creating new jobs and capital investment. In July of 2009, a new structure was approved marking a dramatic shift in the makeup of the UCDB to serve the county moving forward.

About the Union County About Us Development Board

Today, we are an energized, progressive team of leaders with diverse backgrounds and expertise in practical areas that positively impact economic development and growth. These areas include: public utilities, private utilities, industry, secondary education, post- secondary education, healthcare, finance and other professional occupations that impact industry recruitment and retention. While new industry recruitment is a primary goal, overall, the UCDB is the driving force for responsible growth across the county in all areas of economic development. We boast strong relationships—locally, regionally, and at the state level—that give us a strong competitive advantage as we position our varied strengths and attributes moving forward, both internally and externally.

Monthly meetings are scheduled for the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 4pm. We are located in the heart of the City of Union at 207 South Herndon Street.

UCDB Mission

The objective of the Union County Development Board is to promote sustainable economic growth and quality of life by: 1) recruiting targeted industries, 2) putting into place support mechanisms for retaining existing industry, 3) encouraging diverse business growth, and 4) improve internal and external communications.

The UCDB Board of Directors

Diverse Leaders. One Common Goal.

Board Member Photo Joe F. Nichols, Chairman/Public Utilities Utilities Director

City of Union Utilities
P. O. Box 987
Union, SC 29379
Term expires 6/30/19

Board Member Photo Kathy Jo Lancaster, Executive Director Executive Director

Union County Development Board
207 South Herndon Street
Union, SC 29379

Board Member Photo Andrena Powell-Baker, Private Utilities Senior Manager,Community Relations and Development

Lockhart Power
420 River Street
Lockhart, SC 29364
864- 545-2211
Term Expires: 06/30/19

Board Member Photo Emma Garner, Financial Institution Vice President, Park Sterling Bank

UNION,SC 29379
PHONE (864) 429-1890
Term expires 6/30/17

Board Member Photo Dr. BIll Roach, Ex-Officio Union County Schools Superintendent

Union County School District
P. O. Box 907
Union, SC 29379
Term expires 6/30/18

Board Member Photo Joe E. Hines, Jr., At Large Member Owner

Santuc Precision,LLC
P.O. Box 684
UNion, SC 29379
Term expires 6/30/18

Board Member Photo Ray Switzer, Higher Education Vice President, Business Affairs, Spartanburg Community College

Spartanburg Community College
PO Box 4386
Spartanburg, SC 29305
(864) 592-4610
Term Expires: 06/30/18

Board Member Photo Paul R Newhouse, Healthcare Chief Executive Officer

Union Hospital District
322 West South Street 
Union, SC 29379
Term expires 6/30/17

Board Member Photo Dale Wendel, Industry Chemical Engineer

Carlisle Finishing
P. O. Box 8
Carlisle, SC 29031
Term expires 6/30/18

Board Member Photo William D. All II, Board Member Attorney at Law

All & Frost, LLC
P. O. Box 731
716 W. Main St.
Union, SC 29379
Term expires 6/30/17